RSS

Slipping along the Lenten Path…..

13 Mar

March 13, 2013

 

 

 

Usually during lent I give up something like sugar or wine completely for 40 days. Well this year I was strongly led not to do a complete fast. Instead I was led to do a little less eating, drinking and talking and to increase any of the practices that contribute to my well being like writing and prayer, along with being more kind and generous to others and to myself. What I’ve discovered once again is that it is easier to give something up completely for Lent than it is to be moderate and improve or let go of character defects. 

 

During this Lenten Season lots of hard things showed up in my life that want to steal my joy and peace…..which on the brighter side have all brought me closer to God. Of all the things that I was led to increase……prayer has become paramount so that my life is more of a dialogue with God and as a result I return to that peaceful, joy filled place more quickly than ever before. I’ve worked hard uplifting myself through it all and prayer is the only way I know to be restored to peace and joy. Thank you God!!! 

 

I’ve experience much pain over the years of my blessed life. I have walked through many challenges both physical and emotional. But the pain that comes from witnessing your children in pain is the worst kind of pain for me or any parent to handle. 

 

So having said that I know that my slipping along in Lent is the best I can do at this time and because once again I’m learning the power of prayer in my life I can rejoice and let all the pain go and praise God for all the ways I’m drawing nearer to that life that is bigger than me, and beyond my understanding.

 

Remember to feed your soul…..slipping along the way in life is o.k.

 

Love,

Anne

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Slipping along the Lenten Path…..

  1. Dede

    March 13, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    I love you, Mom… We are a long long line of survivors. I too shall prevail 🙂 Dede

     
    • revwelker

      March 13, 2013 at 6:55 pm

      Thank you Sweetheart….We learned from the best.
      I love you with all my heart and pray for you everyday.

       
  2. Judy Welker

    March 14, 2013 at 1:40 am

    I haven’t been reading these regularly, just due to my crazy and busy life,..but I always love it when I do. I so admire you and love you., Judy

     
    • revwelker

      March 14, 2013 at 2:19 am

      Hi Judy, Thank you for your sweet note. You’ve been on my mind and I keep meaning to call you.
      I will do that soon.
      Love, nini

       

Leave a Reply

 
