RSS

Love does not boast, it is not proud, Love doesn’t strut, doesn’t have a swelled head.

11 Oct

October 11, 2012

Love does not boast, it is not proud, Love doesn’t strut, doesn’t have a swelled head.

What comes to mind for me first and foremost…… is that I am nothing with out the power of the Holy Spirit working through me. God is the breadth of my breadth, the heart beat of my heart and the manager of my life. Being blessed by the Holy Spirit in all that I do…..THAT!  I can boast about!!!

Otherwise I suspect that the need to boast or brag comes from not being confident in who we are, what we have or can accomplish. I’ve often heard in the O.A. program that as braggarts we are….. EGO maniacs with inferiority complexes. In other words if you think about the acronym for EGO, “Edging God Out,” bragging about what we’ve accomplished, hoping to get compliments to boost our confidence is really a very sad state of affairs. There’s lots more that could be said about this but I think you can fill in the blanks.

Now there is a fine line between owning who we are, sharing with others the gifts that  we’ve discovered in our life, and how God has blessed us, shown up and worked through us is different than boasting from a place of EGO. I think we have all experienced the difference.

When we know deep within our heart of hearts that we are children of God, created in God’s image and likeness and that God wants to work through each one of us using the special gifts, and a plan for those gifts, that God created in us while we were being formed in our mother’s womb. Remembering that God loves us always in all ways is all the self confidence we need, oh my…. amazing things happen when we remember who we are. We are given the courage to be all that we were created to be and do, and we will prosper in all areas of our lives no matter what happens along the way. We will be grateful for all that we are and we will be praising and bragging about how God lives in us and works through us.

I read a quote this morning by John Henry Newman that says, “To live is to change, and to be perfect is to have changed often.” What that means for me is we are to live our lives, to the best of our ability, listening for guidance, asking for courage to move forward, making mistakes, adjusting our course along way. Sometimes we have to make U turns. More than once I’ve had to let go of my old ideas and be open to new scary possibilities. There is that kind of power in God’s Love….go for it!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Love does not boast, it is not proud, Love doesn’t strut, doesn’t have a swelled head.

  1. Joycee

    October 11, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    I’m goin for it!! (:

     
    • revwelker

      October 12, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      YES!!! You do go for it girl!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
