RSS

The Silent Killer

10 Jul

July 10, 2012………………It’s been too long….

I’ve been focused on my physical well being and at the same time doing my best to stay centered and hopeful that my body will heal and that I will be able to go through live relatively pain free. At last I am hopeful that healing is happening and will continue to happen. I do my part and God does the rest……read on

September 2010, I had a Chiropractor tell me she could not help me with the pain in my hip and that I needed to go see my Doctor. I saw an Orthopedic Surgeon and he told me it was not my hip it was my back and that until the pain was unbearable there was nothing he could do. Shots or surgery were not warranted at that time. Besides I did not want shots or surgery so…..I tolerated the pain until, August, 2011 when it became unbearable. The only relief I got was from taking 4 IBProfen. I knew that large doses of IBP could cause other problems so I only took it when the pain was unbearable.

I think all the difficult challenges in my family caught up with me and then the added stress of Bob’s heart surgery, on some level, stressed me out to the max. I thought I was handling all that was happening with ease and peace, until I remembered that stress is the silent killer. I did not know that I was stressed. After all I meditate almost daily and am able to stay calm through most storms in my life. The body does not lie so I have to admit I must have been in denial about all the stress.

So here’s my what I did next. I tried physical therapy and acupuncture and neither of them seems right for me at all. Then, I started doing Yoga about five months ago and was starting to feel some relief. At that point, I was strongly led to add acupressure treatments.

So I go to the Google God. I search for an Acupressure Therapist and up comes only one name and it’s for a Chiropractor that does Acupressure.

I call, make an appointment and on April 5, she examines my back very carefully like I’ve never had before. She asks me to have an X-ray taken. I’ve never had a Chiropractor want to see an X-ray. I return with film in hand and she shows me exactly what is wrong with my back. The top half of the fifth lumbar is jutting forward away from the disk and lower part of my spine. She tells me that the pain on the left side of my body, in my buttock and on the side of that thigh is because those muscles are compensating for and protecting my lower back. She said if I do not take care of this soon the pain will get worse, and my spinal cord could be damaged as well.

I’ve been seeing this Chiropractor on a regular basis. About two weeks ago she told me to make an appointment with a colleague that does Rolfing. Rolfing is deep tissue and fascia work. This work supports the chiropractic adjustments stay in place. I’ve had several Rolfing sessions. Another benefit of Rolfing is that this work releases any trauma that may be stored in the body.

Long story short….. here I am July 10, three months after starting this new adventure and I can say I am relatively pain free. Thank you God!!!

With much Love & Abundant Blessings,

Anne

Remember to Feed Your Soul!!!

 

I feel so great that I am once again looking forward to living to be 100 years old. Thank you God!!!

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “The Silent Killer

  1. Joycee

    July 18, 2012 at 6:51 am

    That makes my heart sing JOY Mama!! I love you…., xoxo

     
    • revwelker

      July 18, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      You make my heart sing!!!

       
  2. Aimee

    September 3, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Boy do I know how stress effects me. Winning the battle over stress is really tough! I’m so glad you had the courage and strength to find a solution to your pain! What a victory!! Looking forward to your next blog. Love, Aimee

     

Leave a comment