RSS

Step 3…Surrender???

26 Apr

April 25, 2012

Step III

Made a decision to turn my life and my will over to God as we understand God.

What does it mean to surrender my will and my life over to God?  What actions will I take that will demonstrate my surrender.

Most of what I have to do regarding aging is to be willing to change my thinking about what healthy aging feels and looks like and accept what I feel and see. The only way I know for this to happen is for me to change my thinking.

Change my thinking….what does that mean? For me that’s an important part of surrender. Changing my thinking is taking my attention off of my challenges and putting my attention on God. A very simple concept but a very difficult commitment to keep. I’ve learned that setting an intention….and for me today, posting it in this blog, is a powerful thing to do. Between my intention and my goal, “Grace” happens.

So how do I take my attention off my challenges and put my attention on God….One way I can do this is to put my attention on the beauty around me. Another way is to be fully present to what is and not letting my mind take me places that steal my joy. I’ve also memorized scripture and lengthly prayers. Forcing myself to learn these prayers helps keep me focused on God. One of my favorite scriptures is: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, in all ways acknowledge God and God will direct your path.” This scripture is in my own words and comes from Proverbs 3:5. Just repeating this verse brings me peace every time. And for me peace is a sign of answered prayer.

Also I can put my attention on God by praying for others and for myself. Praying for others and for myself opens the door for healing in ways that I can not explain. Being vigilant about my thoughts, praying and affirming that God is in charge and trusting that just by being present I am participating in my growth and change is happening. I know that one day I’ll look back and I will notice that I have changed. Remembering that it’s progress not perfection that I will see.

For the last couple of years I thought I was aging gracefully that is until about eight months ago when arthritic pain hit my body with vengeance. This was adversity personified. I like what Charles Stanley, the well known television preacher said, “Adversity is always unexpected and unwelcomed. It is an intruder and a thief, and yet in the hands of God, adversity becomes the means through which God’s supernatural power is demonstrated.”

Adversity becomes the means through which God’s supernatural power is demonstrated….surrender is the key that unlocks this power!!!

“Remember to feed your soul!”

Until next time.

Blessings Galore to all of you with Love,

Anne

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
