RSS

Questions from a reader….

04 Apr

The following is an e-mail note I received from a dear friend. I asked permission to print her questions. So following each question are my thought in italic.

 

Dear Anne,

It has been a while since I read one of your blogs, maybe since you first started. It felt like I was connecting with you. I love who you are and what you stand for. Reading your blog this morning with my breakfast was like having you here with me.

 I’d like to ask about a few things. (I’m just pushing buttons here and stirring things up.)

I like to have my buttons pushed. It gets me thinking and pondering what I think, believe and more importantly know.

If God is the creator and he/she created us in her likeness, wouldn’t we be perfect, whole and complete? I guess I have a little trouble with the language of the 12 steps.  

At our core yes we are perfect, whole and complete. We come into the world that way but we forget who we are from the minute we are born and we start covering up who we are with beliefs, attitudes and decisions we make based upon what happens to us along the way. 

 

If we need to recover, that would imply that we are sick?

 I like to think about recovery as a path to wholeness. A path to waking up to who we truly are. The 12th step says, Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God, praying only for knowledge of God’s will for us and the power to carry it out!!!

 

Are we perfect even though we are sick?

Always at our core we are perfect no matter what. Sickness is one way we cover up who we are. Prayer and Meditation is the only way I know to stay connected with God and with my Higher Self, thereby following our inner guidance to healing and recovery.

 

Is this sickness merely what we call being human in this culture and time?

I don’t think so….I’m not totally sure what sickness is all about. I think it’s more complicated than we can imagine. Stay close to God and don’t worry about getting sick.

 

And the ‘recovery’ is our path to [greater] peace and joy?

That’s the way it is for me. Recovery is my path to greater peace and joy?

I enjoyed hearing your onion analogy, I have often likened my own growth process to peeling back the layers of an onion (and sometimes tears are involved).

 I love you and I hope you have the day of your dreams today.

 

O.K……”Remember to feed your soul”…..and surprise me and comment or ask questions.

Much Love and Blessings Galore!!!

Anne

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
