RSS

Humility!!! What is it?

28 Feb

February 28, 2012

For me being humble is about remaining teachable. Remembering there’s always more to learn. Humility means for me to be childlike, curious and adventurous in my thinking and contemplation. For me being humble is to know there is more to life than meets the eye, to know it is possible to see beyond appearances, to know and trust that what we see is not always what it appears to be. Remembering you can not judge a book by it’s cover and that there is always at least two sides to every story.

Here’s what Fr. Richard believes about seeing beyond appearances:

He believes like the mystics that all of humanity was given three different sets of eyes, each building on the previous one:

The first eye was the eye of the flesh (thought or sight).

The second eye was the eye of reason (meditation or reflection).

The third eye was the eye of true understanding (contemplation).

He goes on to say, “The third eye is the way the mystics see. They do not reject the first eye; the senses matter to them but they know there is more.”

For me that’s humility…..knowing there is always more. Nobody knows everything. God is the only “All Knowing Energy” in the world and beyond.

Fr. Richard also says, “They do not reject the second eye; but they know not to confuse knowledge with depth or mere correct information with the transformation of consciousness itself.”

For me this means we have to take what we learn and drop it down from our heads into our hearts. Examine it in our hearts and feel the truth of it or not and trust our inner knowing until proven otherwise remembering that there’s always more to learn and see.

Father thinks, “The mystical gaze builds upon the first two eyes — and yet goes further.

He says it happens whenever, by some wondrous “coincidence,” our heart space, our mind space, and our body awareness are all simultaneously open and non resistant.”

For me that is being in the presence. I had an experience a couple years ago that did just that for me. I was at Juvenile Hall to help the teens there make flower arrangements for Thanksgiving. Can you imagine 16 to 18 year old boys making flower arrangements? I could not imagine that until I saw with my own eyes!

I was not prepared for what I was about to see. There before me was a room full of boys, all there because they had severely broken the law one way or another. As I started walking around the room talking to each boy and helping them with their arrangements, I was overwhelmed with love. My heart opened up and I got a huge lump in my throat. As I turned away from the boys tears fell uncontrollably down my face, it took all my strength to avoid sobbing. It took me a few seconds to calm down. I talked briefly with one of the custodians and was surprised at what came out of my mouth. What I realized in that moment was that I was watching a room full of abused babies in big bodies, being very child like and enjoying what they were doing. They’d dropped their tough guy acts and were all smiling and chatting as they worked. I could see their innocence, oh not that they were not guilty of breaking the law but what I saw was their innocence in the eyes of God. I was amazed and overwhelmed with joy and at the same time full of sadness. It was a Grace filled moment of deep inner connection that pulled me into the presence and allowed me to see beyond appearances.

Be open my friends. There’s a lot to learn and to see.

Remember to feed your souls.

With much love and blessings galore!!!

Anne

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Humility!!! What is it?

  1. bob Welker

    February 29, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Dear wife,

    You are an excellent writer and a person full of love.

     
    • revwelker

      February 29, 2012 at 6:43 pm

      Thank you sweetheart!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
