RSS

Acceptance, Surrender, Go with the Flow:

09 Feb

February 8, 2012

I think I’ve shared with you before that I’m a slow learner. Well maybe that’s true about what I’m about to write and maybe not. Sometimes it’s hard for me to discern what is going on until I sit down to write. Quite often after I reread what I’ve written I wonder where my thoughts came from. I’m amazed at what is revealed as I write. I love this process. For me it’s a way to pray and sometimes to get answers to what is happening.

So what am I talking about. Well there’s a fine line here that I’m looking at regarding the arthritic pain in my body. I’m not sure how much of what I’ve done so far, is me trying to take charge and how much is truly me doing my best to follow God’s guidance. But….I know one thing for sure God used it all to get me to a new level of surrender.

I have tried everything I can think of to help my body heal itself of arthritic pain. I’ve seen my regular doctor, an orthopedic surgeon, a chiropractor, an acupuncturist, a physical therapist and a holistic doctor.

Well it feels like I’m back to square one except, by the Grace of God…. I am feeling better. My pain level is low. I’m back to exercising at the gym and am looking for an easy beginning Yoga Class.

To the best of my ability, I’ve done everything that I think I was led to do??? And now I’m ready to surrender. This surrender is not easy because it comes with the realization that this arthritic condition is one that….I plain an simply have to accept!!! Oh that doesn’t mean that I just give up and give in to the pain. No it just means that this is where I am with my 78 year old body. I’ve used it well, taken care of it to the best of my ability, which I will continue to do but pain will always be something I have to deal with, hopefully with love, gentleness and Tylenol.

I am feeling better, physically, mentally and spiritually. I think every healing modality I tried contributed to my progress. I also have a better sense of why what we think affects how we heal. I’ve learned that when we have pain in our bodies the brain records it and will replay it over and over and over. What we tell ourselves about the pain determines whether or not we break the chain that binds us. The worse thing we can do is be frightened by it. What works best is to trust that it will go away or lessen to the point where it is manageable. And….to say loving, supportive, faith filled affirmations to change the mind.

In Romans 12:2m we read, “Be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” WOW….it works.

I feel like I’m back in the flow of what is, instead of trying to change “it.” With this surrender my intention is to float along the river of Life. The Life that is lived within us. Saying yes to that always-existent Life is what works. I’ve come to accept once again that Life always includes pain of some sort. For some reason we need pain to help us grow and change. Much like a plant needs to be pruned for new growth to flourish, so do we. But also I’ve learned once again that suffering is optional. Oh yes I did…. on a few occasions fall into suffering mode. Feeling sorry for myself, I let the frustration of it all get the best of me and my ability to be kind, gentle and patient with myself and unfortunately with others, like poor Bob.

The other piece of what I’ve relearned once again is the power of gratitude. I am so blessed to be 78 years old and to be able to walk, to see clearly with my glasses, to so far be able to hear without hearing aids and to have lots of energy to do whatever I make up my mind to do providing I do most of it early in the day…..take a short rest and then move more slowly in the afternoon. I’m blessed with a loving, kind, patient husband that loves me no matter what!!! I have a very large, loving family and have many opportunities to enjoy being with them. I a truly blessed.

O.K. Acceptance, surrender, go with the flow, all important reminders for me and hopefully for you.

“Remember to feed you soul.!!!”

Love and Blessings Galore,

Anne

 

 

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Acceptance, Surrender, Go with the Flow:

  1. bob Welker

    February 9, 2012 at 2:11 am

    YOU ARE REMARKABLE!!!!!!

    love you . Me

     
    • revwelker

      February 9, 2012 at 11:53 pm

      I love you honey and truly appreciate your supportive comments.
      YOU ARE REMARKABLE TOO!!!

       
  2. Marilyn Atteberry

    February 9, 2012 at 2:16 am

    Thanks for sharing your process of healing with us. Thank you for your insights on pain. I love the quote (not quite sure where I heard it first) “Pain is a given, suffering is optional.” I send you lots of love at this time and am inspired by the way you are taking responsibility for your wellbeing on all levels. Love, Marilyn

     
    • revwelker

      February 9, 2012 at 11:52 pm

      Thank you my forever friend for your sweet comments. I send lots of love to you and your love. Hope all is well for you. Love, Anne

       
  3. Sandy Sims

    February 9, 2012 at 3:25 am

    I screw up on these comments and then they don’t record. What I said before I was dumped was that I take large doses of Glucosamine with Chondroitin, and that has made a big difference with my knee. Also a friend of mine who has pretty bad arthritis says she has flare ups and they seem to come and go.
    Love you
    Sandy/ADA Mimi

     
    • revwelker

      February 9, 2012 at 11:50 pm

      I’ve been taking Glucosamine with Chrondroitin for years and I’m sure it helps. And…I also agree that this condition comes and goes. This time it’s different. But is definitely manageable at this time. Thank you my friend for your c omments.
      Anne

       
  4. Nalini Shenefelt

    February 9, 2012 at 3:32 am

    Dearest Anne,

    YES! I appreciate what you have shared with your experience with pain, as well as truly surrendering and trusting in your deep faith of God working in your life! Surrender ends with Gratitude! I really needed to hear this today! Thank you! Sending Love and Blessings always!
    ~Nalini

     

Leave a Reply

 
