RSS

My thoughts about Fr. Richard’s quote…

05 Dec
December 5, 2011
Someone sent me a comment about not being sure of the meaning of this quote. What follows is my attempt to share what I think about this quote. This is a difficult one to explain. I think what works best is to ponder it and see what comes up for us individually.
I welcome comments because I believe this blog is a two way street and I wish to learn from your comments. There’s always more to learn. Let’s do it together. Someone in Africa requested to be notified of my posts. I hope this person will comment as well.
The human spiritual longing expressed by “Come, Lord Jesus” is a
longing for universal order and meaning. During Advent this is a prayer
that a lot of Christians use. Fr. Rohr is saying that the true meaning of
that prayer is for the reign of God to be manifest on earth and that is
what we are truly calling forth.

I believe that Heaven is now. We just can’t see the bigger picture. It takes Faith to
understand this and Faith takes work and it takes discipline. I do my part and God
does the rest.  My disease of compulsive overeating is being healed by the Grace
of God which speaks loudly to me personally of the power of God within me.
That is for me evidence that the Kingdom of God is within. However it is also
without and all around we just don’t see it.
In the centuries of fighting over the humanity and the divinity of Christ, many
people argue about whether or not Jesus is fully God or not.
the Western Church has  gradually lost touch with the larger and more
universal message: “The  image of the unseen God, the firstborn of all creation, for in him were
created all things in heaven and on earth . . . and he holds all things
in unity . . . because God wanted all perfection to be found in him and
all things to be reconciled through him and for him” (Colossians
1:15-20 [1]). Many people and this is my understanding, believe that Jesus is fully human and fully God. 
I like to think about Jesus, (Christ Consciousness) as being so connected to the Universal God the Father, that is He is one with this
power so much so, that he’s able to do all that He’s done and continues to do through us who know and love Him. For me this
Consciousness is what keeps everything in order despite what we think is going on. Again we can not see beyond appearances.

The bible teaches us that this  consciousness, that is the powerful consciousness of Christ,
existed before the earth was created and that everything came out of this Holy Consciousness.
Now remember this is my understanding and a teaching that I’m very comfortable with. I pray you come
to your own understanding about all that I just wrote. There’s always more to learn, I know that and I
stay open to learning. That’s why I want others to comment on what I write or quote. I want to learn
more, I want to go deeper into my spiritual life.
Thank you for your comment and for the opportunity for me to try to clarify this quote. I’m sure there
is a lot more to learn from this quote and that more will be revealed as time goes on.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
