RSS

More about…..Seeing Holy!!!

08 Nov

November 8, 2011

Seeing Holy Everywhere

We are created in the image and likeness of God. and so is everything else. That is…..everything in the world is a reflection of our Creator’s Love. The Energy of God is in everyone and in everything. We may not see it that way right now….but I think as we practice paying attention to people, places and things we will see more and more the handy work of God. Everything is holy and everything can be an altar if you look at it that way. Honoring the Divine everywhere.

Now think about how your body works. I personally don’t know all the various functions that the body performs to keep us alive but every once in awhile I marvel at the workings of our digestive system. We put food in our mouths, we chew it up and swallow it. That’s where our participation stops and the body takes over. How does the the digestive system take this chewed up matter and process it through our bodies? How does it know exactly what to do when and what goes where? WOW!!! Now that’s Holy for me!!!

Also consider this possibility about people….all people are walking Holy opportunities. For me they are opportunities for us to experience Grace filled blessings for them and for us. Remember what Jesus said, I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me , I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.” he went on to say when asked how did this happen? He said,  “What you do for the needy you do for me.”

What I say is: “With the right attitude whatever you do for someone else like making eye contact and smiling, giving a nod of recognition, complementing some one for no reason except you like what you see even, if you don’t know them or…… spontaneously going out of your way to be kind and or generous to a stranger, are also ways to honor the divine essence in that person.”  I’d say look for ways to do those various suggestions….and see what happens to your attitude.

Barbara Brown Taylor in her book, An Altar in the World says, “So next time you are out and about practice paying attention. Look twice at the people and things you might just as easily ignore. This is one way into a different way of life, full of treasures for those who are willing to pay attention to exactly where they are.” And…I say you’ll be seeing holy everywhere!!!

How the body works is one amazing system that’s difficult for most of us to understand and we give very little thought to this system unless the body breaks down.

But now think about all the systems that are in place in nature. The system of Universe and all the planets, plants life, one more beautiful than another, insects of every size and shape, awesomely beautiful birds from tiny humming birds to huge eagles, animals of every size, shape and color. Oh my it’s mind blowing.

Right now we are witnessing the leaves falling off most trees. Just as soon as they fall off there is a process in place to move the tree through it’s natural paces to prepare it for new leaves. How does that happen?…That’s holy for me! Most of the time we look at trees without their leaves and think they are dead when in fact they are very much alive in the mind of God and growing in a way we can not see. Now that’s holy! That for me is “Seeing Holy.” Try it and see what happens. We are called to see beyond appearances…..that’s where Holy lives.

Now think about the earth. It is traveling around the sun and at the same time is spinning on it’s axis so fast that the gravity of the movement keep us and everything else safely on the planet. Think about that! Now that’s Holy. Yes the ground we stand on is full of God’s love and wherever we stand is Holy Ground….just know this and acknowledge this and see what happens to you.

These are just a few of my thoughts about seeing Holy….I’m sure you can think of some yourself.

Here’s another quote from Ellen Grace O’Brian….

“We meet God, the One Reality, in every situation. Look through life’s myriad disguises today.”—Ellen Grace O’Brian

Remember to feed your soul….with Holy Vision everywhere!!!

Love & Blessings

Anne

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “More about…..Seeing Holy!!!

  1. Nalini Shenefelt

    November 11, 2011 at 4:39 am

    Hello Anne,
    Beautiful! and YES it is all HOLY!!! I was amazed at the moon last night and tonight!! I just happened to walk out, just in time both nights to gaze at it’s beauty!! When I look for That Which is Holy, in the small moments of the day, Wow!! I am just so grateful!!
    Loved your Blog!
    Nalini

     
    • revwelker

      November 11, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      Thank you Nalini….thank you God. Yes!!! The moom is beautiful…it’s lit up by the sun (son). Just a play on words.
      Blessings Galore!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
