RSS

How to be Holy?

28 Oct

I am a recovering compulsive overeater. For the most part my compulsion is in remission…. so to speak. I pay attention to what I’m thinking and do not let my mind or body, for that matter, dictate what and when I’m going to eat.

I realized a long time ago that it all starts with a thought, “Oh remember there’s ice cream in the refrigerator, just one spoonful would be nice and then after 25 trips to the freezer the 1/2 gal of ice cream would be gone or I’d think Just one cooking or piece of cheese or whatever…. Always without any warning the behavior would take off and I would end up eating way too much, too often. Then I would regret eating it and would swear I would not do it again.  I be on the old addict;ts merry-go-round. No fun at all.

For the first 49 years of my life, I’m guessing I managed to put on and take off about 1000 lbs. Always off a diet putting on weight or on a diet taking off weight. I knew how to lose it I did not know how to be moderate and maintain a healthy weight.

Working the 12 steps which include prayer and meditation, talking with a sponsor, sharing my progress with others and giving service are all part of the healing process. Making a commitment to have a plan of eating and being willing to do whatever it takes not to respond to those “eat what you like” thoughts, praying instead helped me get to where I am today. For the most part I do not over eat. I failed many times over the years but I claim imperfect abstinence from compulsive overeating for over 29 years and my weight has not varied more than a few lbs. up or down all that time. Thank you God.

Today the compulsion is in remission. It was a very long road filled with all kinds challenges and lots of pain but also my road to recovery is full of miracles.

This morning while in prayer I was thinking about “How to be holy?” the answer I got was, “Think holy, be holy!” Then I asked the question…..”How do I apply what I’ve learned and experienced during my healing process of compulsive overeating to my periodic, disgruntled attitude in general and my character defects of being impatient and rude?” Just like my compulsive overeating was out of hand…..it seems now, there are times I am totally powerless over my mouth. Dang it anyway!!!

The answer I got was…..”Focus more intently on your thoughts all day long and…. discover what thoughts get you to the place that ruin your day and everyone else’s.” In other words…..practice what you preach and….STAY PRESENT TO WHAT IS!!!

Stay tuned there is more coming!!!

I’m not perfect because God is not finished with me….I’m a work in process and so are you!!! Have a wonderful day.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “How to be Holy?

  1. Nalini Shenefelt

    October 29, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Dearest Anne,

    So perfect and what I needed to hear today!!! Gratitude!!
    Love,
    Nalini

     
    • revwelker

      October 29, 2011 at 7:06 pm

      Hi Nalini, I’ve missed hearing from you. I’m so happy you got something for yourself from my writings.
      Thank you God!!!
      Love,
      Anne

       
  2. Lynn Blom

    October 31, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Thanks Anne… You know I loved reading that! Lynn

     
    • revwelker

      October 31, 2011 at 1:40 am

      Hi Lynn, Glad you loved reading my post.

      Love
      Anne

       

Leave a Reply

 
