RSS

#5 I wish I had let myself be happier!

01 Sep

September 1, 2011 – More thoughts (and quotes) about happiness…..

It seems like every book I’m reading these days has something to say about happiness. This happens to me quite often when what I’m exploring, pondering and wanting to write, seems to find it’s way to me in many different ways. I just have to stay open and be willing to stop, look, and listen.

I’ve been thinking a lot about happiness. Each day I’ve been looking at my life and what is happening and asking….am I happy today? As you can imagine I’ve gone through and continue to go through a gamut of feelings, first walking with Bob as he went through heart surgery and now while he goes through recovery. Feeling, acknowledging and writing about my feelings helps me get to my core and be happy.

The following is an author’s quote with my edits, to make his thoughts Universal. What he writes is so good I don’t want to put it in my own words.

Remember I believe there is one God…..known by many names. A Universal Higher Power available to all. So here goes:

Author’s quotes are in italic, my comments are in parentheses.

“Once we are aware of our yearning for happiness and the world’s inability to satisfy it, the adventure of growth and change begins. Our yearning for happiness, is one way God invites us to join this adventure. God has a dream for you and me. God has a plan for your life and mine.” 

(My thoughts again: When I think about God’s plan and look back over my life I can see how that plan unfolded for me. Have you ever looked back from your birth to this day and tracked how one thing led to another and to another and to….???)

“God wants to deliver us from everything that stands in the way of us of becoming the best-version-of-ourselves.”

(My thoughts added here: Sometimes what God is delivering us from, causes us great pain. Not that God makes good and bad things happen. God does not!!! But God uses all of life to teach us and to deliver us from whatever is standing in the way of our becoming the best-version-of-ourselves.)

What does the author mean by the best-version-of-ourselves?

With this term…..”He is not suggesting a narcissistic, self-seeking approach to life. Rather he is inviting us to a dynamic collaboration with God. (We are to be co-creators of our life.)   It is in and through this collaboration that we become the best-version-of-ourselves, in which the loving nature of God is most present. It is in this consciously walking with God that brings us to the place of true happiness.”

He goes on to say, “Our hearts are filled with dreams and desires. The good dreams and desires that fill our hearts are placed there by God and stirred by the Holy Spirit.” (The Universal Spirit that resides in each one of us waiting for us to turn to and follow.)

(Some of you are probably already following your inner guidance, some of you are already becoming, the best-version-of-yourself. I say becoming because it is a life long process so, I send this as a reminder to you and I write it as a reminder to me. We all need reminders….we remember, we forget, we remember….That’s life!!!

Remember:

Keep it simple…..

Let go of expectations….

Willingness is a key….

Bloom where you are planted….

Many, many blessings to all of you.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “#5 I wish I had let myself be happier!

  1. bob Welker

    September 1, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Very good writing. Wold have liked to know who you were quoting?

    Love,
    Bob

     
  2. Kathy Jakolat

    September 1, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    Amen, sister. I think you and the author are right on target!

     
  3. Bonni Kelley

    September 2, 2011 at 4:19 am

    The best part of today’s thoughts is the ending phrases. Boy what changes in our daily living could happen if we all lived by those words. Especially “Bloom where you are planted”!!! I feel like I’ve been trying to bloom while being sprayed by weed killer. But those days are thankfully gone.

    Great Blog Anne!
    Bonni

     
  4. Betsy Moore

    September 2, 2011 at 4:40 am

    As all ways i am lead to what I need to see, agree or not or just find validation in my thoughts and my path. What you have just written has summed it up for me. I have taken on the task to create new thoughts for myself and others.
    As you know where I live now does not promote new thinking. The higher thinking curious ones that find a way out leave and go on to fly. But sadly the poor souls that have been born here don’t always find a way to explore the world. I am willing to bet you don’t or can not name many grownups that have never been to an airport, much less flown anywhere? Think about it. Where you live air travel is so common place. Maybe if you go the small towns down Hwy 5 or the back woods you will find folks have no need to fly. But here 90 % of the young people 23 and older have never flown anywhere or can conceive of the idea that their lives might need to travel. Their scope is so limited and they settle for bleak lives. It breaks my heart.
    So my plan is to show people their inner talents and talk it up. I work with a wonderful man that is so smart and brilliant and he provides for his reality show family. Has bought 8 acres of land and has gone into the egg business, owns his home and cares for for his mother who weights 459 pounds and is only 44 years old. David is 27 so you do the math. He has one brother who is a druggie and alcoholic and a very handsome brother that is just beginning to grow up. Thus the reality show joke. Plus he is a manager and trainer at JCP. I tell him everyday how wonderful he is and how much I admire and respect him. He has no idea who he is.
    So my on going project is to talk up these people and hopefully give them a glimmer of a whole wide world. And that brings me HAPPINESS!! I love what you have shared and agree totally.

     
  5. Paul

    September 9, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    This is a post I wrote earlier about the road to inner peace:
    Ah, sweet nothing! I decided to Google the term: Answer.com offered a video called “How to Make Grilled Sweet Potato Wedges”!?! (I will be trying the recipe). Fortunately, I also found this: Tinkerbell: You know that place between sleep and awake, the place where you can still remember dreaming? That’s where I’ll always love you, Peter Pan. That’s where I’ll be waiting.
    That “place between sleep and awake”: I’m alive and semi-conscious, but not trapped in my ego and forced to defend myself against those voices telling me that I’m late, I’m behind, I’m not smart enough, I’m not caring enough, I’m not good enough, and, BTW, how come I haven’t paid my bills yet this month? Once in that trap, I see no way out. So I desperately look for relief: working ever harder, because “this project can’t wait, and people are relying on me”; getting overly involved in someone else’s drama, pain or difficulties; getting drunk and/or high, going shopping, playing the ponies, getting laid, screaming at the customer service rep at AT&T, ANYTHING to get rid of “that damned judge!” This, of course, is assuming I’m even aware that the judge is screaming; without that awareness, I’m acting out (see above), and defending that acting out by blaming my boss, my partner, my co-worker, my neighbors, my kids, my drug dealer, AT&T, or the classic, my parents.

    So . . . sweet nothing: sounds so good, so simple; why can’t I do it? I want to, but the obstacle isn’t clear enough to deal with. It’s like a cloud that’s not quite overhead, but just off to the side – visible enough to make me realize that a storm may be near, but far enough off to pretend it’s not there, to deny its existence, to defer action until “something serious” gets my attention. Meditation is a great way to turn down the judgmental voices and blow away the cloud, but, in my experience, not enough IF there are large, unresolved issues from the past that are louder than my voice of inner peace.

     
    • revwelker

      September 10, 2011 at 12:40 am

      I know about those voices and comments that are lies….all lies. We are children of God and are loved and cherished and do the best we can at the level of consciousness we are experiencing. Thank you for sharing Paul.

       

Leave a Reply

 
