RSS

Regret #5 I wish I had let myself be happier.

25 Aug

August 25, 2011

I’ve been thinking a lot about happiness and I’ve even written several pages but….I have not been comfortable with what I wrote. Way too much information. The challenge for me has been to share what I’ve learned in a clear and concise manner. “Keep It Simple,” is the message that keeps coming to me. Incidentally
Keep It Simple,” is a very good adage for life in general.

The more I wrote, the more thoughts that came to me, the more uncomfortable I became. So….for today this is all I’m going to say…

Regret #5 says, “I wish I had let myself be happier.”

Abe Lincoln said, “Most of us are as happy as we make up our minds to be.

Happiness for me is an inside job. Acceptance of what is and letting go of expectations is a powerful lesson I’ve been learning for about 29 years. For me the key is “willingness!” Sometimes I’ve had to say, “O.K. I’m willing to be willing to be willing!”  Opening up to what is and to the best of my ability letting it be, seems like a simple answer but it is not easy. Sometimes it’s a struggle but well worth it. In the process I’ve learned who I am and what I came here to do. Happiness for me is the by-product of living life fully from the place within that guides me and loves me through everything that comes my way…… if I’m willing. Remember “Willingness is the Key!” and it’s o.k. for your prayer to be….I’m willing to be willing to be willing….Amen!!!

“Bloom Where You are Planted.”

“Let Go of Expectations.”

“Willingness is the Key.”

“Keep It Simple.”

Blessings Galore to all of you as you continue to grow and change and become all that you were created to be and do.

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Regret #5 I wish I had let myself be happier.

  1. bob Welker

    August 25, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    To a happy wife from a happy husband ” GO GIRL” you have the right idea.

     
  2. dianemilo

    August 29, 2011 at 6:10 am

    I commented a little on this regret in your previous post but you’re right – this is a big one and covers so much ground. As I read this post, what comes to mind is a particularly difficult day that I had this week. Lots of tears and lots of jumbled eemotions that I was having trouble sorting out. A friend said to me at the end of this day, “What joy did you have today?” I could not answer her. I thought through my day and couldn’t focus in on any part of it that brought me joy. She helped me to think beyond the big things that were troubling me, and remember some seemingly inconsequential things that, in retrospect, were indeed sources of joy. Someone who made a special trip past my office just to say hello. A walk in the warm afternoon sun. The fact that my hair looked good that day. She made me smile, but still I wasn’t truly feeling the joy. So I went home and started looking at pictures of people that I love, and it helped me to realize that they are always a source of joy, even if I’m not physically close to them, because I have joyous memories of being with them.

    So I guess that was the lesson that day for me. There is joy all around, even if the air seems so thick with fog that you don’t think you can see through it.

     
    • revwelker@sbcglobal.net

      August 29, 2011 at 2:21 pm

      Thank you Diane for sharing this beautiful story. Deep within us is a place with a powerful capacity to love, to hope, to feel joy and to ride through whatever pain we are experiencing. At times this joy touches us when and how we least expect it to. Just know it’s there waiting to be called forth.

      Not an easy task but….acceptance of what is…..and a willingness to let go is the key. It’s the support of those people we love that are closest to us here on earth and beyond that give us the courage to let go……. Ask for support, tell your story and be surprised where joy comes from. This joy can and will soothe the pain and help you move on.

       
  3. Patricia Madden

    August 31, 2011 at 5:27 am

    If happiness is a choice then sadness must be too. Choices are good

     

Leave a Reply

 
