RSS

More about #3 speaking our truth….

08 Jul

July 8, 2011

I just keep plugging along this path of awakening and making changes in my life. Progress not perfection is my goal. This morning I had an opportunity to speak my truth. The simple truth would have been enough but I added an unnecessary addendum that was not kind. I realized that I waited too long to say what needed to be said. I was trying to be patient and not let the matter bother me, big mistake on my part—when I made my request, my tone of voice and what I added to my request ended up being hurtful. As soon as possible, I apologized for my tone of voice and what I added to my request and asked for forgiveness.

It’s so important that we pay attention and not fall into the trap of being complacent about our needs and think to ourselves, “I can be patient and not let this bother me.” But….guess what it bothered me more than I realized until I watched and heard myself being mean.

Today, I can soothe my soul and gently remind myself that I’m still learning. There’s always more to learn. Always more, in more ways than one. Always!!!

 

 

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “More about #3 speaking our truth….

  1. shirley

    July 10, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Anne,

    You have the courage of speaking of the truth and let people know how important they are in your life. Take care that they never have to guess at what you think and feel. There may come a time when they walk away…and then would you regret not telling them?

    Thank you for being yourself and sharing your invaluable words with those you love.

    Shirley

     
    • revwelker

      July 10, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      For me Shirley…..there’s no better way to live life.

       
  2. Sally Howe

    July 10, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Any charge to join your “learning” club?

     
    • revwelker

      July 10, 2011 at 7:30 pm

      No charge…..take what you like and leave the rest.

       
  3. dianemilo

    July 10, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    This third point in the list of five regrets has been the one I have personally had the most struggle with in my life. I do think that, as you say, the goal is progress and not perfection. I know that I have made great progress in this area in the past few years. And I am now more aware when I feel myself falling into old traps, and I am trying to take positive steps more frequently to correct that path. I think I am also now more aware when others are struggling with this as well, and I do what I can to help them find the strength and courage to communicate more openly. The real question here is why we develop such intense fear of speaking the truth. Where does that come from? How do we become conditioned to think that it will somehow be better to keep things inside rather than to speak honestly from the heart? I suppose Grace enters into it when you can find a way to speak truthfully from the heart without being hurtful or self-serving. Eliminating (or, at least, reducing) fear, speaking the truth with love and compassion, and accepting the other’s reaction as valid – lofty goals indeed!!! I willl continue to work on recognizing progress as an accomplishment. Thanks for these wonderful reminders, Anne!

     
  4. bob Welker

    July 12, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Speaking the truth without being hurtful is an art form that takes much practice. Keep up the good work.

     

Leave a Reply

 
