RSS

Five Regrets of the Dying!!!

08 Jun

June 8, 2011

There is a book coming soon in 2011 called: Regrets of the Dying.

Life is a choice. It is YOUR life. Choose consciously, choose wisely, choose honestly. Choose happiness! This is a quote from the author that I could have written myself.

This is a truth that I live my life by but I know a lot of people that do not.

I was fortunate to be born with the gift of a strong faith in a Power greater than myself. This Power I choose to call God. For me there is only ONE God called by many names. Here are some names I have for that Power, the Holy Spirit sometimes refered to as Christ Consciousness. I also refer to God as the Source and Substance of everything. I even think of God as Energy. The Energy that holds Everything together, the Energy that orchestrates everything from our individual bodies to the bodies of the Universe.

Please note I said a Power GREATER than myself, not instead of myself. This power is everywhere, in everyone, in every situation and circumstance and is willing to work through us, to help us change and grow and in turn to help us change the world. In fact I believe our main purpose on earth is to restore sanity, peace, love and joy abundantly here and now. Starting with ourselves.

God will not impose God’s will on us. We always have to ask for help when we are unable to do what is necessary. However we MUST do what we CAN do. We must take action physically, mentally and spiritually and then this Power will do for us what we are unable to do for ourselves. Grace kicks in as soon as we move forward. Another wise person said something like, “Grace is in the wind all we have to do is raise our sails.”

Now for the regrets….

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

 

Being true to myself has been and will continue to be a process for me. One experience builds on the previous one and I keep growing and changing.

This is the good news….God does not put a desire in our hearts that God does not plan to bring to fruition. I started learning that a long time ago and have been moving through my life with God most of the time proving this to myself over and over and today I pray I continue to do so.

I took my first big risk when I told my father I wanted to get married. I was 19 years old, the man I wanted to marry was not Italian and not Catholic.

As far back as I can remember growing up, I wanted to get married and have children. My father wanted me to be a musician or at least a music teacher. When I told him I wanted to get married he accepted and supported me and never said one negative word about what I wanted to do or the person I wanted to marry. One day, a few years later he told me he was not happy that I wanted to get married. However he went on to say he could not have chosen a better husband for me. He was pleased with me and my family.

After my husband died my life changed completely. But I always followed my inner guidance, made some mistakes but learned from them and kept on trusting that my life would unfold according to God’s will for me.

I’ve shared a lot so I had better stop now. Until we meet again I send you and everyone in the world…..Blessings Galore for Peace, Love & Joy abundantly!!!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Five Regrets of the Dying!!!

  1. bow Welker

    June 9, 2011 at 12:20 am

    Wow! A wonderful cook, housewife,preacher, and now a wonderful writer. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

    With love and admiration,
    Bob

     
  2. dianemilo

    June 9, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    I’ll write my comments in sections so I don’t lose everything this time.

    I believe, as you do, that there is one God – or higher power – in the universe. I think all the world’s religions have been man’s attempts to explain the origin of this God which, of course, can never really be understood. It both fascinates and saddens me that there has been so much strife and violence and hatred in this world between groups of people who simply believe different stories about God. How can those beliefs possibly lead people to hate and hurt others? That is something I will never be able to accept or even understand.

    I was raised Catholic, and I guess I still consider myself to be one, even though I have rejected many of the man-made rules that this particular system of beliefs forces on its followers. There are times when the ritual of it all still provides a source of spirituality for me, though, and there are certain aspects of Catholic religious practices that are so ingrained in me that I suppose they will always be a part of my life – or, at least, they will always impact me in some way. Still, I have discarded the parts of the religion that lead to intolerance, irrational thinking, and rationalization for bad choices. I like to think that I have retained that which is good – the core philosophy behind the teachings that encourages people to be kind to others, show forgiveness and mercy, and to do good works. I aspire to a life that is full of those things – I don’t always achieve it, but I try.

     
  3. dianemilo

    June 9, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    I’ll write my comments in sections so I don’t lose everything this time.

    I believe, as you do, that there is one God – or higher power – in the universe. I think all the world’s religions have been man’s attempts to explain the origin of this God which, of course, can never really be understood. It both fascinates and saddens me that there has been so much strife and violence and hatred in this world between groups of people who simply believe different stories about God. How can those beliefs possibly lead people to hate and hurt others? That is something I will never be able to accept or even understand.

    I was raised Catholic, and I guess I still consider myself to be one, even though I have rejected many of the man-made rules that this particular system of beliefs forces on its followers. There are times when the ritual of it all still provides a source of spirituality for me, though, and there are certain aspects of Catholic religious practices that are so ingrained in me that I suppose they will always be a part of my life – or, at least, they will always impact me in some way. Still, I have discarded the parts of the religion that lead to intolerance, irrational thinking, and rationalization for bad choices. I like to think that I have retained that which is good – the core philosophy behind the teachings that encourages people to be kind to others, show forgiveness and mercy, and to do good works. I aspire to a life that is full of those things – I don’t always achieve it, but I try.

    I do somehow think that there is some sort of plan for each of us while we are on this Earth, but we must take responsibility for realizing the full potential of that plan through the choices that we make of our own free will. I think I spent the better part of the first half of my life not really being true to myself. It wasn’t that I was trying to live up to others’ expectations of me; I just don’t don’t think I was honest with myself about who I was and what I wanted in my life. Consequently, I made choices during that time that led me down a path that, in hindsight, resulted in wasted years. I know I learned and grew from the people I encountered during those years but, in the end, it was time that now seems to be so very disconnected from who I really am and what I really want my life to be. I think I have gotten so much closer to that in the past decade or so, and definitely feel that I am on a better path.

    That concept of choice is one that I think we can only come to understand fully as we get older. I think when we’re younger, it may seem like we’re making life choices with the future in mind, but I think in most cases that is really not possible. We don’t know ourselves well enough and we don’t yet understand enough about life to project into the future or understand the future ramifications and consequences of those choices in our youth. I think the realization of that understanding is one of the great experiences of getting older. It brings a sense of clarity to one’s actions and interactions with others. It is certainly still possible to make choices that don’t align with what is true for you, but at least we have a better opportunity to understand those choices and see what is really true.

    Truth leads to peace. I think that is one of the most important lessons I have learned in my life. I am hopeful that I have somehow conquered this first “regret”. Now, to move on to the others… : )

     
  4. Barbara Buzby

    June 9, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Look forward to the second, third, fourth, and fifith regrets of dying.

    Thank you Ann for starting your blog. Look forward to reading about your thoughts, ideas and how you became who you are.

    Love always,

    Barbara Buzby

     
  5. Joycee

    June 17, 2011 at 12:22 am

    So Blessed to be able to walk in your footsteps Mama……beautiful writing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
