RSS

I’m a slow learner….

07 Jun

June 7, 2011

Once again I had to jump through hoops to find this page. I’m grateful that I have learned to accept the fact that I’m a slow learner and be patient with myself. I know what I need to do in order to navigate this blog more efficiently I need to……just do it every day.

So right now I’m making a commitment to write every day. That is to write on this blog every day or at least more often than I’ve done so far. I write everyday….journalling which is not for public view, and several times a month and sometime several times a week, I work on essays for my memoir.

I’m amazed at how much I do write these days and how much joy I derive from writing. There was a time in my life when I couldn’t write a thank you note without tremendous struggle, doubt and self criticism. I’ve come a long way. This process started many years ago when I decided I wanted to leave behind the stories about my rich family history and my personal spiritual journey that includes stories about body, mind and spirit. Well I think that’s it for today….it’s time for me to go to the gym.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “I’m a slow learner….

  1. dianemilo

    June 9, 2011 at 1:14 am

    I am a writer, too. Always have been since I was a little girl. To this day, I still have boxes of stationery which, sad to say, I don’t use nearly as much as I used to. I have succumbed to the convenience of email and the computer more often than I would like, simply because it is faster. For me, though, there is nothing more gratifying than sitting by the ocean and handwriting a long letter to someone. There is something special about the physical act of transferring thoughts into something tangible and visible and real. When I read a handwritten note or letter that someone has given to me, I feel more connected to the emotion the writer was trying to convey. This may sound odd, but it’s as though I can sense what the writer was feeling more clearly when I look at the handwriting. Still, the art of writing, whether on a computer or done with a pen, is something I cherish. It somehow helps me sort through the jumble and make sense of things. I always thought I would someday write a book. The possible topics have changed over the years, but I have several ideas floating around in my head. Perhaps a good project for my retirement years! Anyway, I am glad you intend to write here regularly. I look forward to reading your words, and I will. Respond as often as I can.

    Happy blogging!

     
    • revwelker

      June 9, 2011 at 4:52 pm

      Hi Diane,

      I forgot I started this note last night and was too tired to finish it. Then I received your other comments and took off on those. Now I feel caught up with you comments. I just had this thought of what a gift it is for us to have this exchange. We can learn a lot from each other. This is definitely a two way street for me and I hope it is for you too.

      Yes retirement is a good time to write. I read recently that you are writing when you have thoughts about writing floating around in your head.

      I do hand written notes when ever possible. That is if I’m sending a short note I do them by hand but longer letters I have to do on the computer. I have arthritis in my hands that allows me to type pain free but a lot of writing is unbearable.

      I can now confidently say I’m a writer. I’ve been writing for years but started very late in life. I always dreamed of writing my memoir. I started and stopped many times. Then I took a class and have been writing more and more frequently. I now have a commitment to write 500 words everyday. So far I doing pretty good….not perfect but pretty good.

      4180 Rincon Ave. Campbell, Ca 95008 408-374-7229

       
  2. Joycee

    June 17, 2011 at 12:29 am

    I need to get back on the band wagon and finish the book I started 3 years ago “My Blind Date With God” I never dreamed it would have such a happy ending……….I appreciate your encouragement through your blog. I’m not ready to make a commitment on writting but trust the time is comin soon!!!

    Until then I will continue to enjoy the miracles appearing day to day….

    I love you
    Me xoxo

     

Leave a Reply

 
